Things I’ve been doing when I haven’t been here

  • Nesting.  Hardcore nesting.
  • Laundry.
  • Sleeping.
  • Not sleeping.
  • Stressing about getting projects initiated and/or transitioned before I take off.  I’m planning to work up until my due date (unless advised otherwise) and not having a hard and fast deadline over the next few weeks is less than ideal if you ask me.  
  • Visiting with family.
  • Recovering from visit with said family.  I mean this quite literally.  I contracted a summer cold which completely knocked me on my ass last week.  Neti pots are AH-MAZING.
  • Nursing my body, which is going through some major (read: painful) changes these last few days. Long baths are the only thing that seems to relax my joints enough.  Unfortunately, even with a nice long bubble bath to cap off the day, I still feel like a 90 year old with arthritis when I get up to go to the bathroom for the umpteenth time in a night. 
  • Freaking that every little pain, cervical kick, twinge, cramp, etc., means I’m going into early labor.  
  • Walking when I can–the weather here in on the north coast has cooled considerably.  We even turned off the air and have had the windows open.  Probably contributing to my stuffy nose, but awesome none-the-less.
  • Building things incorrectly.  I recently found myself incapable of following the simplest of instructions while trying to put together a baby swing.  I was all into doing it myself because I’m usually good at this sort of thing.  Until I finished…and it couldn’t stand up on it’s own.  Kevin came to the rescue and had to point out that I somehow installed 4 different pieces incorrectly and backwards.  I’m no longer allowed to build things.
  • Wishing, hoping, and praying that this kid is or will be in the proper position by the time this party begins.  Latest concerns from my OB/GYN are that he may still be breech.  While I know it would be fine if it ends up being required, I would really really REALLY like to avoid a c-section. Sure, it might help me avoid some of the other crazy things associated with normal labor and delivery, but still.  It’s major surgery folks and my track record with even minor surgeries isn’t awesome.  
  • Devouring books–I am almost finished with The Hunger Games trilogy.  Sure, it’s YA fiction, but I still found it to be an entertaining and compelling read.  We’ll see how the final book ends.  I am drawn to the book because the main character is a totally kick-ass female who basically becomes the face of rebellion in this post-apocalyptic setting.  However, I will confess that I’m rather annoyed that there’s a love triangle (think Bella/Edward/Jacob) thing happening and some serious exploitation which I think is a deeper commentary on how women, even in future post-apocalyptic and war-torn societies, are viewed.  
  • Wondering if I’ll ever return to the kitchen in any kind of meaningful way.  I miss cooking.
  • Trying to remember when, at what point, my conversations all became so baby-centric.  What did I used to talk about before I got pregnant?  Will I be able to have those conversations again?  Of course I have to cut myself some slack.  For the larger part of my early pregnancy, I was very focused on my father and his recovery from strokes and major surgery.  Now that he’s feeling better (enough to cause trouble of other kinds), I feel like I can finally celebrate a little bit.  Still, I really hope that I was an interesting person prior to this baby, and that some of that will come back eventually.
  • Not sleeping.  Did I mention that already?
Leave a Reply

