Oy, ya’ll.  To say that work has been busy would be a HUGE understatement.  I’ve been in the office by 7:30 a.m., often not leaving until atleast 7 p.m. and I still can’t seem to get it all done.  Oy indeed.

I’m also feeling kind of raw because my sweet Daddy turns 80 next week.  This is an incredible milestone for him, considering all he’s been through the past 9 months and I just wish I could be there to celebrate.  Why can’t I take a week off to travel down to my beloved ‘Bama.  Please refer to the paragraph above. 

I feel extreme guilt.  I don’t want to be the kind of person that puts work before family.  Not ever.  BUT, I’ve also put alot of time and focus on family over the last 9 months and now that I’m trying to save my vacation time to add to my leave after Baby H arrives and add on the fact that this is literally the month from HELL and it is completely out of the question for me to even consider being gone for any portion of it and well…you get the idea.

I also feel extreme jealousy.  My sister and her family have somehow found the finances and the time to plan a 4 day trip down.  Dad is doing so well and is thrilled to be having visitors.  They are planning on getting him set up with a garden plot in the community garden and helping him plant.  They are planning to take him out to eat, visit places nearby, and just enjoy being with him.  I have forgotten what it is like to enjoy time in my homeland since most of it has been spent at the hospital not really spending any kind of “quality time” with my Daddy.  I want nothing more than to actually enjoy him–especially since he’s been doing so well.  I’m absolutely green with envy because I don’t get to be there with him. 

And finally, part of me is feeling disappointed.  The ultrasound we’ve been waiting on so that we may be comforted by the fact that Baby H does, in fact, have gender bits and also the ultrasound that will tell us what kind of bits those are has (alas) been rescheduled.  Sure, we only need to wait two more days but still.

Oy.  Oy. OY. OY!

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

