Namaste

It’s probably pretty obvious to you that resolving to blog more often wasn’t on my list of new year’s to-dos.  It’s been a crazy couple of weeks involving a massive cold, lots of bed rest, fluids, tissues, cough drops and a really intense couple of weeks at work. So while I’ve been checking in to read other blogs and see your comments, I have been at a loss for my own voice. 

This weekend, Kevin and I embark on another trip down south.  We are meeting up with my sister and her family and have some pretty agressive goals for getting my Dad’s house cleaned out, cleaned up, and on the market…in 5 days.  It may take feats of strength greater than we can imagine, but it has to be done.  Preparing for that trip has consumed most of my time on the internets too.  I’ve been searching for all kinds of services to set up–painters, cleaners, places to donate cars, house hold items, etc.  I’ve gotten lots of referrals from people too, which has been ridiculously helpful.

I’ve also discovered yoga and I have to say I’m loving it.  Kevin and I are doing it together (yes, we are that couple) and tonight will be our second session.  The practice at the studio we have chosen focuses on meditation and relaxation and a very gentle flow.  It’s the PERFECT place to begin and last weeks session was really very cool.  It was also really nice to “do” something with Kevin that didn’t involve household chores, television watching, etc.  We’re planning on keeping it up and it may just end up being the best thing we can do for and with one another.  Plus I can breathe out of my nose this time, so I’m looking forward to it even more.

I didn’t really resolve to do anything in particular this year, but I have made a personal vow to myself to take better care–of my body, my mind, and my spirit. There are good things on the horizon for me and I’ll be better equipped to embrace them when they come.

Are good things coming to you?  How will you embrace them?

8 thoughts on “Namaste

  1. taking care of yourself will make the taking care of others part flow a little more smoothly. i mean, it's the typical pattern of caretakers to put themselves last. nature of the beast. but when you're stronger, fortified, because you do for yourself, the burdens get a little lighter.

    here's to taking care. 🙂

  2. Found you through Magnolia…

    Specifically to the name of this post… “Namaste”…

    Go down that path, Grasshoppah… you will be better for it…

    Spiritual health is as important if not MORE important than physical health…

    Namaste…

    ~shoes~

  3. Very good choice. Yoga is one of the best ways to
    find “balance”. In time you will only have to shut your eyes ,take a deep breath to overcome stress moments.Good luck for both of you!

Leave a Reply

