An Open Letter to the month of November

Dear November,

Don’t tell October that I told you this, but man was I glad to see that bitch go!  Can you believe that she insisted on tormenting me until the last minute and hour she was with us?  Seriously.  As if the leg infections (me), crippling back aches (Kevin), stomach problems (both of us), and sinus infections (both again) weren’t enough.  But the very last day of the month she made me so nauseous that I actually tossed my cookies…30 minutes before leaving to go to a birthday party for our niece. Did she tell you what that was about?  Well, she lies.

November, I can trust you with a secret, right?  I like you way better.  I always have.  You are that sweet spot between fall and winter.  You’re like that beautiful stranger.  You are cool and dark.  And, well, you’re damn sneaky too aren’t you?  Hell, I barely saw you coming and before I know it, you’ll be gone leaving me with nothing more than a turkey coma and three weekends to do all that holiday preparation I keep putting off until after Thanksgiving because I prefer my holidays one at a time.

The thing is, November, I could really use a friend.  I’ve got major stuff to accomplish this month–NaBloPoMo, a renewal of my commitment to excercise and stress relief, getting this place ready for holiday guests and “The Home Improvement Project” of course.  Not to mention that I have some big fish to fry at work.  But it can’t all be about me. 

November, it’s about us.  See, if we work together I think we can both be happy (a concept totally lost on October, apparently).  Before you know it, we’ll be laughing and gossiping over spiced cider and pumpkin cookies like old girlfiends.  Heck, we might even get December in on it if we play our cards right!  Doesn’t that sound fun?  Yeah, I think so too.

Whaddya say, November?  Are you in?  Let’s show that bitch October how it’s done, huh?

Your bff,
‘BOTB

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to the month of November

  1. this is one of the best pieces i've read in a long time. well done – hell of a way to kick off the blog challenge, too! looks like i'll have to step up my game. 🙂

Leave a Reply

