The cart before the horse

I would have sworn yesterday was the last day in July.  I would have bet money on it.  But, like all things happening in my life recently, I shouldn’t be putting money on anything because I’m likely very, VERY wrong.  Damn you calendar, with your incessant date-keeping accuracy!

So, in fact, TODAY is the last day of July NaBloPoMo.  I’ve apparently been too busy dealing with the realities of life to, well, pay attention to reality.  My bad.

Today is a weird day.  I slept too late and too hard and woke up with one of those groggy, going-to-take-me-a-while-even-with-coffee-to-feel-normal kind of days.  Kevin headed out with the camera to go hiking nearby and I opted to stay home.  I just wasn’t feeling it.  Instead, I’m feeling peace in the minutia–starting laundry, tidying piles.  Don’t get me wrong, you can hardly call this cleaning.  But aren’t there times when you’d rather just be at home?

4 thoughts on “The cart before the horse

  1. Agreed. Especially when it's this hot and humid outside.

    Miscellaneous household chores can give me such a feeling of accomplishments; makes me proud of my house.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. Agree. Even when you have to stay at home,can´t go for a ride by the river , just watch its shiny blue through the window. Home is our chore, our spirit belongs here.If you go away, our flowers, our tiny trees , our passig-by cats, miss you.

Leave a Reply

