Playing Hookey

Remember on Friday when I was telling y’all that I went to work, despite the fact that my mind, body, and heart were telling me I should have just stayed home? Well, I woke up this morning and decided that I just. couldn’t. do. it.  So I called off.  This is so blantantly against my nature that I of course had a text from a friend at work making sure I was ok despite the fact that in my voicemails this morning I said repeatedly “I know I never do this.  I’m totally fine.  I just need a day.”

And it was a good day. 

I got up, got all dolled up–even put on a new dress that I bought this weekend and one of the new necklaces I bought yesterday during the Taste of Tremont.  I went shopping, ran errands, cleaned the kitchen, ate lunch, and settled in for a nap on the couch.  It doesn’t sound like much, but it was divine

While it sounds silly to relish in such seemingly banal activities on a day off from work, I’m really, really proud of myself for giving myself a break.  Sure, I’ve taken time off recently to spend with friends on July 4th, or to visit my family and see Hannah graduate from Kindergarten.  But when have I taken time off for me?  I can’t seem to remember, which is precisely why today felt so right.  Besides, I know that god-forsaken data entry project will be waiting for me on the other side, regardless. For now though, I’m rested.  And it feels damn good. 

6 thoughts on “Playing Hookey

Leave a Reply

