They like me! They really like me!

Kevin and I moved into this house 2 years ago.  As in most suburban neighborhoods, our neighbors are right. next. door.  As in, it’s pretty hard to ignore them.  Good thing they are nice!

My husband, being the extrovert that he is, made fast friends with our neighbors to the east. They have two little boys who L-O-V-E Kevin.  No, seriously.  They are obsessed.  I wouldn’t be surprised one bit if they showed up at the front door asking if Kevin could come out and play…except that they aren’t allowed in the front yard. 

Most of our exchanges with these guys take place across a chainlink fence.  On a hot summer afternoon when everyone is out enjoying the weather, you may hear the following:

Neighbor Boys:  “Hey Kevin!  Kevin!  KEVIN!  Keeeevvvvviiiiiiin!!!!!”

Kevin:  “What?”

Neighbor Boys:  “Hi!  Hi Kevin!  Kevin, HI!”

In fact, they are so enraptured with dear Kevin that they often pay me no mind.  I like to think I’m  a yard ninja and am often able to pass from the detached garage to the house undetected because of my mad skills…but I know it’s because I’m just not as interesting.

That is…until today.  It was a hot and beautiful summer evening, so we had all the windows and doors open to let the breeze in.  Kevin was in the kitchen pulling things in preparation to grill outside and I was sitting in the back room (which opens on to our patio).  The following exchange then occurs:

Neighbor Boys: “Kevin!  KeeEEVVVIN! KEVIN!!!!!!!!”

Neighbor Boys’ Dad: “Guys, Knock it off!”

Boys: “KEVIN!!! KEVIN! KEVINKEVINKEVINKEVIN!”

Kevin (from inside the kitchen, yelling out the window):  “Hi! What’s up?”

Boys: “Where’s Kelly?”

Guess my yard ninja dreams are over…

3 thoughts on “They like me! They really like me!

  1. Awesome! Guess your days of yard ninja are over.

    BTW, love the look of the blog…had been reading you in my Reader for a while and missed it.

    Our neighbor boys (who I ADORE!) loved me most (for the same reasons, btw) but now I've been upstaged by my daughter. Sheesh!

Leave a Reply

