Dream On

Is it just me, or do you ever have a dream so real, so incredibly horrible, and so outrightfully* scary and full of emotion that you wake up utterly destroyed?  I had one such dream last night and it was NOT. FUN.  There was a huge storm that blew through our area last night and I think that it severely affected my R.E.M.  I tossed until the wee hours and then had this crazy dream that Kevin decided that, after 5 years of marriage and 10 years of being together, he didn’t want to be with me any more.  I woke up sobbing, angry, and spent. I absolutely hate starting days this way.  I’m just grateful it wasn’t a work day.

Besides having Kevin constantly remind me that it was just a dream, the other thing that helped me shake it, was getting into the kitchen.  I made blueberry muffins (from a box, the way my momma used to do it!), bacon, and eggs cooked in the tiniest little bit of the remaining bacon grease. There’s something oddly restorative about being in the kitchen and having things go well after such an emotional tsunami.  There’s also something not-so-oddly restorative about realizing that the unimaginable offenses someone can make against you in your dreams have no basis in reality whatsoever.  Still, it seems awfully unfair that my own brain should do that to my delicate pyche.

I want a sleep do-over.

*Side question: Is outrightfully even a word, or am I making it up?

2 thoughts on “Dream On

Leave a Reply

