C is for Courage

I think Soren Kierkegaard said “To dare is to lose one’s footing momentarily.  To not dare is to lose oneself.”

It seems that this week, people around me are doing amazing and courageous things.  Heartsick and Headstrong is courageously battling heart disease and just ran her first 1.5 miles in 13 minutes this week.  PCL has taken her dreams into her own hands and is starting a new blogging project AND has decided to start a family.  Deciding to raise children requires courage as it is, but she also has the chutzpah to share her experience with us.  Friends are dealing with death, parents with severe health issues, career changes, etc.  People all around me are daring to dream and daring to live up to that dream.  All this got me thinking about courage and what role it plays in my life. 

There are instances in my life that I can look back on and see as examples of courage.  Leaving Mobile, AL to move to Cleveland, OH for college, basically sight unseen, is a big one that comes to mind.  Then there are others, like when I submitted a short story to Redbook Magazine (they rejected it) or when I decided to share my blog with people other than my husband, my sister, and my roommates.  Lately though, I’ve been feeling less than courageous and I gotta say I haven’t been taking many risks. By not taking risks, am I actually risking my unique me-ness? I’ll be thinking long and hard this week about what I can do to call my courageousness into action.  In the meantime, what risks have you taken lately?

3 thoughts on “C is for Courage

  1. You take risks every day you live. And think about the things you've done recently…you went on a vacay to a foreign land, you submitted your work to a new endeavor, etc. You're plenty brave and courageous.

Leave a Reply

