The L-Word

It’s a little after 8 a.m. on Sunday morning and it’s Valentine’s Day.  I woke up early this morning because I couldn’t sleep, pulled on the pajama pants I received as a gift on valentine’s day 6 years ago, and tip toed downstairs.  There is a box of handmade chocolates from local woman (photos to come because these just might be the most incredible chocolates you’ve ever seen) and a card for Kevin waiting on the coffee table. 
The clock turned midnight last night before we fell asleep and when it did, Kevin bent over, rustled around in the drawer of his bedside table, and pulled out a box to give to me.  It was a necklace we’d seen together when we were out window shopping a few weeks back.  It’s beautiful, he was so excited to give it to me, and I can’t wait to wear it.  Tonight, we are cooking a nice dinner in and just spending the evening together.  Perfection.

I never used to be a Valentine’s person until someone asked me to marry him on Valentine’s Day, that is.  What sucker that guy was, right?  (Kevin, you know I’m kidding)  I guess that’s because there’s a part of me that  really hates that everything-red-and-cellophane-wrapped-with-big-fake-roses kind of stuff.  There’s lots of ugly stuff out there for people to buy to symbolize their romantic feelings for one another.  Now, you and I both know I’m a romantic person and I tend to be a pretty compassionate one at that.  So why this a aversion?  Valentine’s tends to be an exclusive holiday.  Valentine’s tends to be about expressing the romantic love you have for your significant other/spouse/partner/etc., so if you are one of those people that is currently unaffiliated, you feel like you wanna barf all over the seasonal section at Target. Forget it if you have just started to date someone–then Valentine’s Day is downright awkward, right?

To me, Valentine’s is about celebrating love–an emotion that certainly deserves to be celebrated.  When was the last time you heard a news story about love?  Love comes in all kinds of different shapes, sizes, colors, dimensions.  It’s not just for people in a romantic relationship and I think that concept gets lost in all the pink teddy bears holding hearts other cheesy stuff. I think it’s about exibiting love anyway that feels right–buying a stranger a cup of coffee, volunteering to help someone in need, or taking care of a friend who’s going through a hard time is just as much about giving the necklace she wouldn’t buy for herself or buying him chocolates that he doesn’t have to share.  If Valentine’s Day is about celebrating love, and love is the truest emotion, then celebrate it in the truest way you can.  Just maybe try to do it more than once a year…

3 thoughts on “The L-Word

  1. I'm so ambivalent about Valentine's Day that if it weren't for the sudden jump in jewelry commercials and the explosion of red and pink hearts at Target, I would probably forget completely about it.

    Once a year is not enough to show true emotion and I think there is just too much hype associated with the day.

Leave a Reply

