The tooth will set you free: an update

So, Sophie and I both had our appointments this week.  First, the update on Sophie. Kevin took her to the vet on Monday. She was thoroughly examined and the results weren’t so good.  Apparently, she has a degenerative disease of her gums and mouth which caused her tooth to fall out.  She’s going to have to have oral surgery when we get back from our trip (because the veterinary dentist is also on vacation) and have FIVE teeth removed and it’s likely her remaining canine tooth will come out on it’s own prior to the scheduled surgery.  She’s in a mild amount of pain and has a small infection, but Kevin is giving her antibiotics twice a day, we’re feeding her soft food if she will eat it, and we are giving her lots of attention and love.  The vet advised us that, while removing teeth sounds drastic, it will actually improve her quality of life dramatically because she won’t have any more pain once the extraction sites heal and she can probably still eat hard food if she wants to.  Kevin made sure to point out to me that the vet specifically said that this is a degenerative disease that couldn’t be pre-empted or prevented and that it boils down to good old fashioned genetics.  It will cost us, but she will be fine–and perhaps even happier than she has been in a while.

It seems that Sophie and I are both victims of bad genetics when it comes to teeth.  Case in point?  I had my dental appointment this week and it was pretty frustrating.  Not just because the dentist had no intention of actually filling all of the teeth I’d made an appointment for him to fill.  Not just because, I have atleast 2 more dental appointments to look forward to in the next month or so.  Not because he discovered an uncharted cavity in the neighboring tooth of the one he was working on, so technically, he filled two cavities.  Nope.  Couldn’t have been because I had to wait 45 minutes for him to even start the process because the lady before me was 45 minutes late for her appointment!  Surely it wasn’t because I was sitting there so long that the novacaine actually wore off and he had to give me MORE shots halfway through the process to numb me back up!  Couldn’t have been that, right?  Of course not…

2 thoughts on “The tooth will set you free: an update

  1. I hate going to the dentist and have horrible anxiety about teeth. My recurring dream is I am eating a cooked onion whole and it is of course soft and sort of mushy – and while I am chewing my teeth become the same consistency and merge with the chewed onion and I swallow my own teeth. I know Sophie will be fine! Cats dont care if they have teeth!

  2. Poor Sophie! And poor you!! Teeth problems freak me out. I don't know why, they just do.

    Giving cats meds is difficult, so I applaud Kevin for being able to do that.

    I don't know if you have the cash reserves to pay for Sophie's surgery or not, but one option is Care Credit. It's basically a credit card for health (like the dentist) and vet stuff (like Sophie's stuff). We had to do that with this surgery for Rocky (apparently our cash limit is two surgeries). But they offer incentives like a few months same as cash, etc. So it's a good option.

Leave a Reply

