I apologize in advance for this post.

I’m cranky, tired, and feeling uber-bratty.  I don’t want to work, I don’t want to sit.  Everything is irritating.  I’m a mess, I tell you.  A mess.  Plus, it’s Monday and we all know how Mondays are.  The worst part, besides risking damage to my marriage because of my piss-poor attitude?  There is virtually no reason for this.  None.  Life is good.  Kevin is good.  I’m good. 

You know what’s not good?  January. January sucks in Cleveland.  SUCKS.  It’s not the cold because it hasn’t been that cold.  It’s not the snow because it hasn’t really snowed since I bought my new snow boots (ironic, right?).  It’s the gray.  The horrible gray.  Today, it was gray, dark, and drizzly interspersed with snow flurries.  Except for the few minutes when I was eating lunch and the sun actually peaked through some clouds.  It was the most awesome 45 seconds of my day. 

I know my feelings towards January are irrational.  I know that I choose to live in a place that has such gloomy winters.  And I know that the winters won’t last forever.  I know that it’s a small price to pay for summers when we only use the airconditioning for 6 days out of the entire 3 months.  When it’s light out until 9:15 p.m. and I can garden when I get home, sit on the patio and sip wine, or go for a walk with Kevin while the neighborhood kids frolic from yard to yard.  When it’s dry, sunny, and wonderful.  I live my life for those summers.  I really do. 

But January…Damn you, January.

6 thoughts on “I apologize in advance for this post.

  1. You make me feel guilty.I live in one of the most beautiful places in the world,yesterday I went for a walk under a bright blue sky, by my river Tagus that looks like the sea, but… I can't stand Januaries.

    Don't worry, Spring has almost arrived here and is going to your place, as well.Eat some chocolate, you'll get better.

  2. Joana, You made me smile! Thanks for reading and thanks for being with me in my hatred for January. Now, we're onto February. Only slightly better… 🙂

  3. Joana, You made me smile! Thanks for reading and thanks for being with me in my hatred for January. Now, we're onto February. Only slightly better… 🙂

Leave a Reply

