Hit the road, Jack!

I know it may seem a little brash, bidding such harsh adieu to 2009.  Honestly, though, I awoke this morning thinking about what we would do today. Something awesome?  A big celebration?  A night on the town?  Fireworks to usher in a new year?  Then I started to think: “Why do I need to so something so momentous? This year has been plenty momentous as it is. 

We’ve put some pretty big things to rest this year, that’s for sure.  I mean, there were two major medical things, work on the house, unexpected expenses, family health issues, etc.  And there were exciting things, like Kevin finally finishing his MBA, planning our 2010 trip to Puerto Rico, and making some pretty big decisions about our future.  Thing is that stuff both good and otherwise will continue to come our way, clean slate or not. Still, I’m thrilled to see 2009 end.  I’m ready for a new decade, I think. 

So this New Year’s Eve, we layed low.  I made beignets for breakfast for one Mr. Kevin Hatgas, aka Beignet Virgin.  They were delicious.  Then, I took a nice looong hot soak and read a book (The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, if you must know.)  I also spent some time in the kitchen starting the laborious process of making Pretzel Jello dessert for the Hatgas Holiday get together tomorrow.  Personally, I wanted to bring MEK’s Caramel Layer Cake, but I’m a good girl and do as I’m told so Pretzel Jello it is!  But I suppose that’s a story for another blog.As I was saying, we ended up at the movie theater to see Avatar in 3D.  It was really good and well worth seeing it in the theaters with the 3D glasses. Afterwards, we met up with our neighbor friends for dinner.  Not a bad way to put a year to rest.  Not at all.  Here’s to the end of 2009!  Here’s to more of excitement and heartache in the year to come! 

One thought on “Hit the road, Jack!

Leave a Reply

