An Open Letter to Thanksgiving

Dear Thanksgiving,
If you had asked me yesterday what I thought you’d be like, I am not sure what I would have said.  I was feeling pretty down what with my original plans thwarted and all. We might have even had a rocky start this morning, you and I.  I mean, I had to send Kevin to the store this morning. Twice.  I’m still not sure how I forgot to buy celery. 

Still, you held steady and by 3 p.m., you delivered to me the most awesome of thanksgiving feasts…that I cooked (mostly) all by myself!  The turkey was friggin’ juicy, the gravy was perfect, the cornbread stuffing was delicious (Kevin had 3 helpings!) and the cranberry-apple compote was divine.  Hell, while dinner was cooking, Kevin and I had an opportunity to take a walk.

We’ve wined, we’ve dined, we’ve even played Catch Phrase.  There’s a fire in the fireplace and movies to watch, games to play, etc. 

I gotta hand it to you, Thanksgiving. You delivered. You rock.

Sincerely,
One happy girl

Leave a Reply

