The Morning After

It’s the morning after Halloween and the morning after “Fall Back”. It’s a chilly, cloudy autumn morning. The kind of morning that only comes once a year. The kind of morning when you’re sure everyone is having a hard time getting up and getting motivated because their bodies are confused with copious amounts of candy and the time change. I woke up this morning thinking “What time is it really?”, “How much crap did I eat yesterday?”, “Is it really Sunday?” (I think this most Sundays), and “Why are my muscles sore?” I got out of bed, put on my cozy robe and slippers and went straight down to the kitchen to fix myself some breakfast. Breakfast, which I just devoured as I sit here a type.

You see, November isn’t just about NaBloPoMo. It’s already turned into something quite bigger than that. For me, November is about motivation.

Motivation.

MOTIVATION.

Let it roll around on your tongue for a bit.

If the last few months–hell, even the last few weeks–have taught me anything, it’s that we have to take what tiny little grain of motivation we have inside of ourselves and multiply it by a gazillion (or another subsequently larger made up number) and we have to do this and make this change because our life freaking depends on it.

Sounds dire, right? Well, it is.

Motivation is what keeps us going, what drives us to decisions and what jump starts us into action. When changes need to be made for your health, or well being, then do it.

So the changes we have made are as follows:

1. Time on the elliptical each day or atleast 5 days a week.
2. Better, low fat, non-processes meals.
3. For me, blogging daily.
4. Taking time to talk, and to listen.

They are small, but they are mighty. And they might just be the motivation we need to pull ourselves out of this funk that is 2009.

What motivates you?

5 thoughts on “The Morning After

  1. I agree 100%. My favorite changes are #2 (cuz that's my thing, Buy Organic, buy local!) and #4. May I make the humble suggestion of “Fire and Wine Night.” When Dela was born we picked Wed. as our night and no T.V. nor computer nor phone was turned on (usually not even lights) and we drank a bottle of wine in front of our fireplace. It does wonders for the communication. That fireplace you have is a powerful tool.

  2. Thanks for reading, Joel. And thanks for the suggestion. I had forgotten about Fire & Wine night and that is a great suggestion.

    I think the two of us need to cook more balanced meals. We've been taking the easy way out too much lately. Or rather, I do the majority of the cooking and I get tired. But we are going to make some changes, damnit!

  3. Thanks for reading, Joel. And thanks for the suggestion. I had forgotten about Fire & Wine night and that is a great suggestion.

    I think the two of us need to cook more balanced meals. We've been taking the easy way out too much lately. Or rather, I do the majority of the cooking and I get tired. But we are going to make some changes, damnit!

  4. I don't know what motivates me, maybe the idea that there is this ever elusive “better person/wife/mom/doctor” that I can be. You go girl. You're gonna have a lot on your plate this month, keep up the motivation!

Leave a Reply

