Stress: The new white meat.

Sometimes the most important thing in a whole day is the rest we take between two deep breaths. ~Etty Hillesum

I am the worst when it comes to managing stress. I don’t eat right, I don’t sleep well, I don’t eat right, and I sure as hell don’t have any kind of physical outlet when I’m stressed. As a matter of fact, I come home and shut down. I’ll do anything to escape. It should probably come as no shock to you that I managed to find the one other person on earth as freaky as me and decided to take him as my husband.

We are a couple of worry-worts.

It wasn’t enough that I ignored all the tell-tale signs of a gallbladder melt down thinking it was “just stress”. Now, my dear-to-my-heart other half has decided to take his own stress to heart…literally.

No one wants to get the call that their beloved is being taken to the emergency room with chest pain and shortness of breath. It’s downright scary, especially considering that my friend Gillian suffered from a full-blown heart attack at the age of 30 just a few months ago (read her blog here) So anyways, I get this call, bail on work, and head to the emergency room. After an EKG, some blood work, and some careful monitoring, they sent us home with a prescription for relaxation and a recommendation for follow-up with our primary care. Stress has finally gotten the better of him…to the point where he thought he was having a heart attack.

I’m not totally sure what this new “chapter” of our lives means long-term. Kids will inevitably bring beautiful complication and subsequent stress. However, I think in the short-term, it means we have to make some big changes. And we have to make them now.

In the meantime, I’ll try to remind us to breathe from time to time. Of course, I might need you to help remind me too.

2 thoughts on “Stress: The new white meat.

  1. I'm glad everything is okay. I heard about everything yesterday.

    Sometimes rearranging the smallest things can make the biggest difference. Remember that.

Leave a Reply

