Despite all my rage…

…I’m really pretty happy. I promise.

I’m going through some pretty weird stuff lately and I’m sorry if it seems like I’m complaining and malcontent. Generally, I’m very happy with my life. I have a wonderful husband who make me laugh, caters to my every whim, and loves me unconditionally. I have a great family (on both sides) and recently found out that that family will be expanding even futher! I have GREAT friends in all parts of my life and I’m so completely and utterly thankful for every single one of you. I feel like my work has purpose. I’m happy with where I am in my life and happy with where it is going.

But when I recently hung out with someone I don’t see very often, but who I am FB friends with and reads this blog and the first thing she said to me was “How are you doing? You seem really frustrated!” I thought to myself that I probably don’t want the people that don’t see me in a day-to-day context to picture me standing on the edge of a cliff.

I use this blog as a way to vent in situations where I might not normally blurt out “I’m mad!” or “There’s a whole in the pocket of our bank account and the money keeps leaking out!” or even “What’s my motivation?!?!” People who see me day after day (like Kevin and my work girls) know that I laugh as frequently as I have the urge to shake someone or lock myself in my office and blast “Bullet with Butterfly Wings”.

But if I wrote post after post about my snuggly kitten Gibson (who is no longer a kitten but still acts like one) who likes to shimmy under any covers and nestle himself in my lap or about how when I get to see my nieces and nephews, I’m quoting them or laughing about things they said and did for days. Months even. Wouldn’t you want to scratch my eyes out or something if I was like that all the time?

There’s a really great quote that I read the other day that I can’t seem to find or even accurately paraphrase, but the gist of it is that if you are going to enjoy the good things in life, you’ve got to take them with the not-so-great things*. I have always been a firm believer in this principal–that the sweet in life wouldn’t be as sweet without a little salt every now and again and I think that’s true for me too. If I find the quote, which I’m now obsessed with, I will post it here at future date.

In the mean time, I’d like to thank you for reading, laughing, crying, yelling, shaking, giggling, sighing, etc., with me post after post. It means more to me than you’ll know. Now, if you’ll excuse me, Saturday night calls….

*Note: If you are thinking about the theme song from the Facts of Life, shame on you!

4 thoughts on “Despite all my rage…

  1. Sarah and Kim, Thanks for supporting both my urge to vent and my urge to cheer. You're clearly very patient and understanding people and I appreciate you.

    Joel, you needed something catchy to hum when you're building trellises, right?

Leave a Reply

