Neither here nor there…

As many of you know from previous posts, I spent much of September going from place to place. First I went here.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have any time when I was in Colorado Springs to visit Pike’s Peak. However, I’m relatively certain that Pike’s Peak was where everyone congregated at the end of Close Encounters of the Third Kind. For those of you who don’t know, CETK holds a special place in my heart. No, it’s not because of Richard Dreyfus’ superb acting or ability to carry a sunburn on half of his face. It’s because a large portion of the final scenes at the airforce base were actually filmed in Mobile. Yes, they took footage of Brookley Airforce Base and superimposed it on the base of Pike’s Peak. Yes, that guy in the big sunglasses and the mustache went to my church (and yes, I went to church thank you very much). Best of all? Yes, that was my sister’s 1st grade class dressed up like young aliens ushering King Dreyfus onto the space ship in the end. Unfortunately, my sister refused to be part of it because she didn’t get to wear a pretty dress. Oh, the irony.

Then I came home, unpacked, did laundry, repacked and went here.

It’s not as big as you’d think it is. No, I did not see the president. No, I did not witness any interesting protest or picket lines. Something interesting to note is that the person I was with thought it would be fun to protest something. What, may you ask? Boys who wear girls jeans. Thank god there isn’t a poster board and sharpie sidewalk salesman outside the White House.

Finally, I am here.

Ah, the comforts of home. It has taken me the better part of a week or so to get back into the swing of things. Last night, we went to the Two Loons Lodge to watch the debate in the company of like-minded others. Who am I kidding? We went to drink! We each drew 9 words and each word was worth a certain number of points. Each time the candidates said a word, we were awarded those points. I racked up 52 points over the two hours thanks to the generous use of “Petraeus”, “Foreign Oil”, and “President Bush”. I would have scored more had they actually debated about foreign policy like they were supposed to. However, I can’t blame them for talking about the economy. It’s the new black.

I try not to get political because I’m southern and I was raised not to bring up politics because it could be offensive/incendiary/thought provoking/alienating/rude/etc.

Well, pardon me for being rude for a moment but what exactly did John McCain think he was doing and who did he think he was fooling when he selected Sarah Palin? Did he seriously think that by picking a woman–any woman–that he could trick us into voting on the GOP ticket? Did he think that it didn’t matter that this woman has virtually no experience? That crazy things come out of her mouth (and not in a good way)? As a woman, I’m a little insulted that he could insinuate that women will appeal to SP simply because she’s a woman.

Now, I’m not denying that she doesn’t have a compelling story. I know lots of women and I know lots of women who are working moms. None of those women claim to be qualified to be 2nd in command. And just because you can see other countries from your house doesn’t make you an expert on foreign policy.

I’m certainly not the first to admit that our friend Hillary Clinton isn’t the warmest ray of sunshine either. But she is sharp, intelligent, and extremely assertive.

What I see happening is this fascination with SP because she represents the every-woman. She’s an average jane. And she’s funny (and fun to make fun of–thank you Tina Fey). She’s alot like alot of women that every woman and man in this country knows. But should we want an average someone to run the country? To represent us at the table with leaders who already have less respect for the United States than they did 8 years ago? When those people see the likes of John McCain and Sarah Palin, they won’t see the millions upon millions of concerned Americans. They won’t see the people who voted against them. They are representing us. United States. US.

I don’t know about you, but I want the most extraordinary people we can possibly elect to be at that table. Not a candidate who is stuck in the past (Senator McCain) or thinks she can get away with being “cute” (Sarah Palin).

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I need to go to the store to pick up some things for dinner. But for the record, that doesn’t qualify me to meet with any foreign diplomats. Just so we’re clear, OK?

3 thoughts on “Neither here nor there…

Leave a Reply

