By this time tomorrow…

…I will be well on my way to Colorado Springs. The trip should be interesting, albeit short. I’ll get back to Cleveland with enough time to finish out the week, check a few emails, do a few loads of laundry, and pack up to go to on my next out of towner to D.C. the following Mon-Wednesday. Get excited!

This week was the longest short week ever. There’s lots of drama going on at work, paired with the normal start of the school year drama, paired with the need to prepare for being out of town for big portions of the week two weeks in a row. For those of you who are not good at stress math, this = SUPER KELLY STRESS. I was definitely ready for a relaxing weekend. Too bad I didn’t have one planned!
Friday evening, we had a few people over for a housewarming shindig of sorts. Mostly, the crowd consisted of work friends with very few good friends mixed in to make the evening more interesting. Together, Kevin and I basically spent our whole week planning and getting ready for this party. We cleaned, we rearranged, we shopped and shopped and shopped some more, I cooked, Kevin tidied. Basically, it was a whole lot of work! It was really great to see everyone, but as you probably know, being a host is a lot harder than being an attendee to one of these soiree’s. We got tons of compliments on all the right things so atleast I know all our effort was worthwhile! We woke up exhausted on Saturday morning. Kevin had to go to work, so I stayed home and cleaned. Then, we had another party to attend! It was great to be on the flip side of entertaining but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t absolutely crave an evening at home with a home cooked meal, just watching TV with Kevin. “But Kelly,” you are probably saying “That’s what Sundays are for!” right?
Wrong. Today is Momma Hatgas’ birthday. Not just any birthday, but her 60th birthday. It also happens to be the day before I leave for a trip AND the day that I agreed to meet with a lovely group of students from JCU who are going to be teaching JA for me this fall as part of the pilot program (and why I’m going to CO Springs in the first place). It just didn’t make sense for me to drive back and forth this afternoon. So, here I am. Flying solo. At home. Packing (mostly done btw). Cleaning. And getting ready to meet with these Carroll kids in an hour and a half. And feeling mildly malcontent because of it all.

Leave a Reply

