Dear y’all

It has been quite a week, that is for sure. Or has it infact been two?

As I write this, I’m waiting for the call to meet Kevin, the twins, and the in-laws for dinner at our favorite chinese restaurant. Simmi is upstairs practicing her latest piece (has been for most of the day). To think I once thought it was cool to live beneath a concert pianist major…but I digress.

Life has been hectic. If you’ve been reading Kevin’s blog, you may know we are eye-deep in the house hunting project. We may have just found the one. Feast your eyes on the pictures and tell me what you think?

In my limited free time and when I’m not too exhausted by work or depressed by the gray winter weather, I have completed yet another book! A masterpiece of our time? Probably not. But it was written by someone I can only imagine is a total kindred spirit and her story had me laughing out loud. The book is called Julie & Julia and chronicles the year of a woman soon to be 30 who feels her life is not what she imagined it would be. In the pit of despair, she recalls finding comfort in Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Vol. 1 and decides that she will indeed make all 524 recipes within the next 365 days. While working a full time job, nurturing a marriage, and blogging about her experience. What I think is great about the story is that it’s not so much about perfecting the recipe, but just the act of doing. Admittedly, she’s not the awesomest of cooks, her apartment kitchen is small and gross, but she is just doing something that she enjoys. And I enjoyed reading about it.

Things seem overwhelming right now, so the fact that I can conquer reading a book provides me with a zen that not much else can right now. My sleep patterns have been erratic lately, my diet horrendous, my days long. Kevin has been experiencing alot of the same. Our place is a mess, Sophie feels the need to puke after every meal…and piss in the back hallway (God, please don’t let our landlord read this or we can REALLY kiss our security deposit goodbye.) We’ve been trying desperately to save any penny because we know we’ll need it for the HBE (house buying extravaganza!) so our clothes and shoes are practically rags. I confessed to Kevin this morning as we were laying in bed talking in the early hours of the morning (on a Saturday, no less) that IF we decided to put an offer on the house, AND we ended up getting it, that I would feel like the Clampetts moving to Beverly Hills. Thank goodness furniture doesn’t go on the outside of the house, that’s all I’m saying!

Enough babble for now. The cats are rampaging and it’s time to meet the Hatgases for dinner with a post-chinese date with the Mulders..provided Sarah doesn’t pop out a baby in the next few hours.

Leave a Reply

