Objects in the rearview mirror may appear closer than they are

It’s Tuesday night around 10:47 p.m. and I have just spent the better part of about 2 hours trying to figure out what to write in an email to a person who I have not spoken with or kept in touch with in four years. A relatively difficult task in and of itself–what do you say? Hi? How do you start over again? I guess the only thing that made it alot easier (and alot harder, I might add) is that he is now stationed in Mosgul, Iraq.

Shane and I always had what I’d refer to now as a complex relationship. Not complex in the sense that you might think–we never danced on the cusp of dating, we never faught or had any dramatic highs and lows. Shane and I were complex because our friendship was so simple–we were just there for each other. Nothing more. It wasn’t that kind of suffocating support where lives can be so intertwined that individual issues become a part of you both. It was more of a no-questions-asked kind of support. I knew that I could count on him if things got rough. And they did. And when that happened, he’d offer a hug and that would be it. He wouldn’t ask questions, he would just be. That was always so comforting.

So here I was, earlier this evening, armed with an email address and an opportunity to return all those favors. And I’m sure he’ll think it’s weird that after 4 years of nothing, he will get an email from me while in a completely foreign place–not just geographically, but emotionally. Hopefully he won’t. Because while it was completely strange to send an email to him after so long while he is in a completely foreign place–it also seemed like the perfect start. I didn’t ask any questions, I didn’t offer any personal information. It seemed the perfect way to just “be” back.

Leave a Reply

